Mickelson Hits Moving Ball with Putter, Receives Sextuple Bogey

Elena Summers
June 17, 2018

Phil Mickelson's 48th birthday took a weird twist on Saturday as he was penalised for deliberately hitting a moving ball in the third round of the US Open.

Australian major victor Elkington joined a chorus of former players and fans calling for five-time major victor Mickelson to be disqualified from the Shinnecock Hills event in NY after his freaky meltdown. It's a two-shot penalty on top of the score, so it ends up being a nine, and as of now it's on the scorecard as a such. Afterwards, Daly claimed he had taken the penalty on goal as a protest against the USGA placing so many precarious pins on Pinehurst No. 2's mounded greens.

"I think he just snapped. I'll gladly take my two strokes and move on". "I don't know if it would have saved me a shot or not, but I might have saved my shot doing it the way I did it, too". After missing about a 15-foot putt, Mickelson ran over to his ball and hit it back to the hole, while it was still moving.

Asked whether he thought his actions were disrespectful, Mickelson added: "It was meant to take advantage of the rules as best as you can. It's just one of them things that just happened".

Mickelson, celebrating his 48th birthday, was already four over for the day when he got into all sorts of trouble at the 13th.

If the photo below is anything to go by, the bombardment of questions towards Mickelson will not cease soon.


"We want the US Open to be tough. He played a moving ball", Bodenhamer said. He was serenaded with "Happy Birthday" at almost every green, and even after four consecutive bogeys the fans were supportive. It's been- you know, singing "Happy Birthday", wishing happy birthdays, the people here have made coming here over the decades an awesome experience.

Mickelson took action with the goal of influencing the movement of a ball in play.

"I feel like they've kept it on the correct side".

And Mickelson should know there's no place for that kind of behavior on any golf course, much less in the national championship. [The U.S. Open] beats you up man.

You can see the initial putt here. Sorry, I have to laugh at this.' He just laughed with me. He needed two more putts to get down from there.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER