Ronaldo, Modric and Salah finalists for FIFA's 'The Best' Men's Player award

Elena Summers
September 5, 2018

Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah have been nominated for "The Best FIFA's Men's Player Award".

The midfielder was named UEFA's Player of the Year ahead of Ronaldo and Salah on Aug 30.

Real Madrid lodged an official complaint with Federation Internationale de Football Association, claiming that Inter had made an illegal approach for the UEFA Player of the Year, who was strongly linked with a move to the Nerazzurri over the summer.

While a few in the football fraternity, including former Manchester United goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel, were looking forward to the possible announcement of a new Player of the Year Award victor this year, Messi fans and Barcelona weren't happy at the snub.

Salah scored 44 goals in an incredible debut season for Liverpool before being robbed of his chance to make an impression in the Champions League final by an early injury.

The Argentine faced off against Ronaldo countless times in La Liga, both with their respective clubs and for personal accolades, though they will no longer go head to head in La Liga.

Messi admitted that he was "surprised" at the move and believes that Madrid will be weaker for losing his fellow five-time Ballon d'Or victor.

Ronaldo made it after Champions League glory with Real Madrid, scoring 15 goals in the cup, while Luka Modric was his teammate with Real and also guided Croatia to the World Cup final.

While his global team-mates geared up for games against Croatia and Italy, Ronaldo was put through his paces alongside Sami Khedira, who was left out of the recent Germany squad after a disappointing World Cup.

Norway and Lyon's Ada Hegenrberg, Dzsenifer Marozsan, of Germany and Lyon, and Marta, of Brazil and Orlando Pride, have been shortlisted for the women's prize.

Modric picked up the honour last week following a terrific season in which he also helped Real Madrid to a third consecutive Champions League.

The three coaches bidding for the women's game award are Asako Takakura, who led Japan to the Asian Games title last week, Reynald Pedros of France and Sarina Wiegman of the Netherlands.

The awards ceremony will take place in London on September 24.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article