Croatia’s Luka Modric wins Federation Internationale de Football Association best player of the year award

Elena Summers
September 25, 2018

Eden Hazard has revealed that he voted for Real Madrid and Croatia superstar Luka Modric to win the Best FIFA Men's Player award.

Modric won the Champions League with Madrid and took Croatia to the World Cup final, where he was chosen as the player of the tournament.

Modric, who helped Madrid win the Champions League before leading Croatia to the World Cup final, said he wanted the duo at the event.

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric has emerged the victor of the 2018 FIFA Men's Best Player.

But the Egyptian star's effort, which saw him spin past two Everton players before curling a left-foot shot into the far corner, gained 38 per cent of the more than 500,000 votes cast.

In the past decade Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have won every award going more or less, so Modric makes a change.

"I am as happy as if I had won it", said Ramos of Modric's success.

The Belgium keeper also completed a UEFA and Federation Internationale de Football Association double having been awarded the Golden Glove for his performances at the World Cup.

Best Goal "Puskas" award: Liverpool and Egypt worldwide Mohamed Salah won the Puskas Goal of the Year award for his goal against derby rival Everton last season at Anfield.

"It is possible that they won too much and do not like to lose".

The best goalkeeper award will be fought for between Thibaut Courtois, Kasper Schmeichel and Hugo Lloris.

The awards were held for the third year running after football's governing body ended its six-year association with the Ballon d'Or.

But then came the World Cup, where Ronaldo and Modric had contrasting experiences. The coach award in the women's game went to Reynald Pedros, the Frenchman who led Lyon to French league and Champions League glory.

Germany manager Joachim Low, speaking to BBC Sport before the awards were announced: "All the players who are nominated are very, very good".

The victor of the FIFA Award is picked after the votes are split between national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, their team captains, a select group of media from those countries, and fans.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article