Modric beats Salah, Ronaldo to Best FIFA Men's Player 2018

Elena Summers
September 25, 2018

Luka Modric and Marta have scooped the player of the year awards at the FIFA Best ceremony in London.

Dangote on his part has shown interest in buying over Premier League side Arsenal but the opportunity is yet to present itself.

Croatian and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric on Monday night pipped Liverpool's talisman Mohammad Salah and Ronaldo to win the 2018 FIFA Best Player of the Year Award.

The midfielder led his national team to their first ever World Cup final in Russian Federation this year but lost 4-2 to eventual winners France in July.

Ronaldo had won the award for the last two years with Messi and him dominating the voting over the course of the last 11 years.

Real Madrid's Belgium global Thibaut Courtois won the Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Ronaldo and Messi have both won the award five times each, but the Portuguese's only rivals to this year's gong are his former Real Madrid team-mate Luka Modric and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah.

Mohamed Salah celebrates his Puskas-winning goal against Everton.

He polled 38 percent of the entire votes to win the prestigious prize after his curling left-footed shot ended high inside the far corner of Jordan Pickford's net.

"I'm very happy and very proud", he said at the podium.

Modric won the Champions League with Real and then played a major role in Croatia's run to the World Cup final where they were beaten by France.

"This trophy is also for my family, without whom I would not be the player and person that I am".

The pair made it onto the FIFPro Team of the Year but neither were there to pick up their trophies for the honour.

Belgian Thibaut Courtois, a recent Real Madrid transfer from Chelsea, won the best goalkeeper award.

Messi and Ronaldo were the only winners of world soccer's main individual award from Federation Internationale de Football Association in various guises since 2008, both winning five titles each.

His compatriot Reynald Pedros picked up the women's coach award after leading Lyon's women's team to a league and Champions League double.

Top honors for men and women players and coaches were decided by a process that assigned four equal weights to the votes of fans, media, national team coaches and national team captains.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article