Molina and Perez capture Gold Gloves

Elena Summers
November 7, 2018

He is only the third first baseman in franchise history to earn the award, joining four-time victor Mark Grace and Derek Lee, who won twice.

The award is the ninth in Molina's storied career.

Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr. and Ian Kinsler won Gold Gloves for the World Series champion Red Sox on Sunday night, and the Atlanta Braves also were recognized for their fielding excellence this season.

Unfortunately for Smoak and the Jays, though, Oakland's Matt Olson, who was spectacular almost all season long, was given the award, also edging out Mitch Moreland of the Boston Red Sox, who himself won a Gold Glove Award in 2016.

Instead of Benintendi winning the award, Royals left fielder Alex Gordon won his sixth.

The pitcher also joins Greg Maddux, Niekro, Bob Gibson and Mike Mussina in the Major League Baseball record books as the only pitchers with at least five Gold Gloves and All-Star selections. Wong finished as a runner up to victor D.J. LeMahieu of the Colorado Rockies.

Kinsler, who came over to the Red Sox from the Angels, claimed the award for the second time in the last three seasons despite playing in just 128 games. Fans can only select one player in each league among the 2018 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners to take home the "Best of the Best" honor, to be unveiled at the 2018 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony on Friday, November 9, 2018. It was a similar situation at catcher in the AL, with Salvador Perez winning for Kansas City for the fifth time after he was unseated by Martin Maldonado a year ago.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article