Ireland must face Swiss & Denmark in Euro qualifiers

Elena Summers
December 2, 2018

The draw was incredibly favourable to Ireland who would have been drawn in Group C with Holland and Germany had it not been for a technicality which meant that three host nations can not be in the same group.

Another positive for Ireland is that they are in a five-team group, rather than a six-team group, which means that they will have two matchdays free.

Qualifying group stage matches will commence in March 2019 and will end in November 2019.

Gareth Southgate's side, which this year unexpectedly reached the World Cup semifinals and advanced to the Nations League Final Four, was drawn alongside Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo.

The Netherlands and Germany were grouped together in qualification for the 2020 European Championship at Sunday's draw in Dublin, one of 12 host cities for the finals that will be staged across the continent for the first time.

The semi finals and final will be held at Wembley.

"We'll be trying our best to beat all the teams and whatever's gone on with Denmark in the past is in the past".

Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibralta.

Ireland have been handed a challenging group for the Euro 2020 qualifiers with Mick McCarthy's side drawn alongside Switzerland and Denmark.

Croatia has been drawn in Group E alongside Wales, Slovakia, Hungary and Azerbaijan.

France, which won the World Cup in July and lost the Euro 2016 final on home soil, is in qualifying with Iceland, Turkey, Albania and Moldova.

Group F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta.

Belgium, in Group I, face Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan and San Marino, while Italy, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia and Liechtenstein are in Group J.

The winners and runners up from each of the twelve groups will progress to the 24-team tournament. Unlike previous tournaments, the playoffs to decide the four other spots will be contested between the most successful teams from the four divisions of the Nations League who have not already qualified.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article