Seattle among 8 cities awarded XFL team

Elena Summers
December 6, 2018

The St. Louis team will play in The Dome at America's Center, where the St. Louis Rams played in downtown St. Louis.

Though not announced, the league has already registered XFL-related domains for Atlanta, Austin, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Kansas City, Minnesota, Nashville, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, and San Francisco.

XFL commissioner Oliver Luck has announced the eight cities that will host teams for the rebooted league in 2020. "Less stall, more ball", he said, proving again that people will proudly invent dumb slogans as long as they rhyme.

The XFL was originally founded in 1999, but closed after one season. Rules will be simplified and broadcasts will air fewer commercials.

Luck said they want the XFL to be affordable for families and they are working on lower ticket prices. It opened with the Governor of New Jersey, who introduced Vince McMahon.

"After months of research and consideration, we're thrilled to announce the cities and venues of the XFL's eight inaugural teams", said Luck.

It seems by placing XFL cities in famous National Football League locations, they are able to possibly capitalize on the downtime those fans might have in that market in the offseason.

The NFL Cardinals played in St. Louis from 1960 to 1987 before relocating to Arizona. It looks like the XFL will know if that is going to work soon enough, because even though the games aren't scheduled to kick off until February 2020, fans can make sure they have a seat for the event where ever they want to catch a game.

McMahon is once again betting on America's insatiable appetite for gridiron, playing a 10-game regular season followed by postseason and a championship game during the winter and spring months when the National Football League has concluded.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article